E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

2004 E320 Wagon Split Rear Seat Problem

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-25-2008, 03:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 E320 Wagon
Unhappy 2004 E320 Wagon Split Rear Seat Problem

OK so I am a newbie. Yesterday, a lovely, used 2004 `E320 Wagon was delivered to my house, and upon first inspection, it's fine. The only real issue I have found is that I can't seem to bring down the split rear seats.

Reading the docs, it should be simple.
Fold down the headrests - OK
Release and move the seat beds forwards - done no problem
Release the operating lever on top of either part of the rear seat backs and fold them forwards - no dice.

These suckers just won't budge. Interestingly, when I pull on the lever that retains the left rear seat, there's the sound of a motor operating, and then a beep from the center console. What's up with that?

The likelihood is that I am doing something completely wrong. Speaking to the vendor on the phone today, he had no problem with the seat backs, but could not describe the process to lower them.

Can one of you fine folks give me a clue perhaps?

-sf
Old 04-25-2008, 04:01 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 4,445 Likes on 3,154 Posts
'71 Pinto
Originally Posted by SimonPCFrost
Can one of you fine folks give me a clue perhaps?
Detailed instructions explained in your manual: Controls -> Loading & Stowing.
Old 04-25-2008, 11:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 E320 Wagon
Question

Originally Posted by konigstiger
Detailed instructions explained in your manual: Controls -> Loading & Stowing.

Thanks for the pointer, but no joy.

I tell ya. I have read that handbook up and down. I did learn that when I pull the handle to release the seatback on the left section, the beep I hear is accompanied by a message in the instrument cluster telling me that the seat is unlocked... a somewhat pointless missive. Those seats just won't break free.