Trolls & Reinforcement Theory

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-16-2003, 02:10 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2013 S550
Trolls & Reinforcement Theory

Let's get down to business
I don't got no time to play around what is this?
Must be a circus in town let’s shut the shut the sh*t down
On these clowns, Can I get a witness?

I can’t bring myself to respond to the ridiculous thread that currently is active in this forum. I notice that many regular posters have avoided it also. I can’t vote in an absurd poll. This is not “off-topic” because it’s prime-time right now in this forum.

In another lifetime, I was a therapist that worked with folks prior to discharge from a psychiatric hospital, and was considered knowledgeable if not an expert in behavioral theory.

Ya gotta ask yerself, “Why da heck would sumbodie *** inta civil environment en try en stir up truble?’ Okay, maybe you ask yourself a slightly different question.

High-level trolls are different from low-level trolls. I’ve been on the internet (and USENET) since the 80s in its infancy (CompuServe, for example) and in-and-out of bulletin boards before and during. You got the type that just drop by and post an inflammatory remark and leave. They drop by later and read the fallout. They may or may not post again. That’s more of a low-level troll.

High level trolls tend to lie to themselves as well as others. They actually want the interaction, it’s just that their negative outlook on most everything bleeds through into their comments. They can’t help themselves. They don’t think of themselves as “bad people”; they really think they are contributing to a dialogue. That’s what’s really scary. They really can’t see it. They just have to live it.

Still, both types live for reinforcement. You, me, anybody, just sumbodie respond! Put me down, build me up, whatever, I don’t care, just notice I’m here! Please! If you ignore me, I’ll just get more offensive. Try and ignore me then!