E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

2006 W211 E350 - Balance Shaft Issue - Resolved!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-11-2020, 01:34 PM

Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts
2006 E350 (mine), 2008 E350 (wifey's)
2006 W211 E350 - Balance Shaft Issue - Resolved!

Recently solved my Balance Shaft issue on my 2006 E350 and wanted to share with the rest of the community the decisions made and steps taken to finally resolve this. Total time was about 3 weeks, mainly because I was waiting on parts to be delivered during the beginning of the Covid pandemic.

Background:
So I had been getting Camshaft Adjustment codes for quite a while. Reading the MBWorld forums here (Thank you Everyone who's posted helpful content!!) regarding these codes and the engine in this year model, I didn't want to admit it, but I knew where this was likely heading.
So, I'll just clear the codes and mosey on down the road and pretend that nothing's wrong...

I have been clearing the codes on these for about 5 years/50,000 miles now. Codes first showed up at about 100,000 miles. After overcoming a spell of denial, I decided to ride it out all the way to the end- well almost. I think that the end would've meant a tow back to the house due to a No-Start timing issue, which I felt like was imminent, so it was time to deal with it. Time for the big dirty.

In hindsight, maybe I got more life out of it than others did who started getting the balance shaft codes, not sure.. From other (older) W211 balance shaft posts it seemed like mostly, people were getting the dealers fix and trying to get Benz to compensate them for the work paid for.

Benz did offer compensation for this so long as:
Vehicle is under 10 years from production date,
AND has less than 125,000 miles,
AND Repairs were performed before May 13, 2015.
Reimbursement rate was pro-rated based on mileage of vehicle.
None of these applied in my case, likely yours either.

Decision to make:
Keep car and rebuild engine
-OR-