E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

C220cdi turbo on a E270cdi

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-22-2021 | 11:09 AM

E270cdi Elegance 2002
C220cdi turbo on a E270cdi

Hi All,
i'm a newbie but have followed the forum for many years. I have an issue with my E 270cdi 2002. 2 weeks ago i started getting a grinding noise coming from turbo area that could only be heard on deceleration. With the car in park, if i rev it i hear the ''vroom'' of the engine follwed by the turbo whistle then a grinding noise that fades away. It sounds just like a bearing which has lost its lubrication. So removed air filter box and found the noise definitely coming from the turbo. Through some internet research i found out that the turbo is lubricated via a pipe that comes from the upper engine block. So it seems obvious that my problem is with the lubrication system. Having driven the car for 2 weeks until i realised there was a problem, i want to get a new (reconditioned) turbo as mine is probably knackered and i dont want to risk it failing and being catastrophic. My friend has a turbo from a C220cdi and says it is good for models C and E class W203, W209, W210, W211. It's part number is A611 0960999. The part number on my e270 turbo is A647 0960999. Are they compatible? I'm no mechanic but i would have thought that a turbo from a C220cdi would be calibrated for that cars fuel/air/cylinder size and not for a 2.7cdi. Could anyone shed any light on why the turbo has stopped being lubricated. I'm going to delve in again today and take the lubrication feed pipe off and have a look see what's going on. Will i need a new turbo? can i just fix the lubrication issue out and keep original turbo?. I forgot to mention that 5 weeks before this problem started i had the head skimmed and new head gasket etc so the whole top end has been off and rebuilt. I'm wondering if this has something to do with the lubrication pipe not supplying oil.

Last edited by Cleanshirt; 08-22-2021 at 11:18 AM.