E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

Total Newbie

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-05-2012, 11:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2012 E350 W212
Total Newbie

Hello everyone! First off, this is a great forum.

This past week I took delivery of a brand new 2012 E350 and so far, I love it. I am a complete newbie to Mercedes-Benz as it is my very first one as well as a newbie to European cars in general. Most of my experience is through Japanese cars mainly through Toyota/Lexus. Because of this, I had to completely adjust to things such as the lack of a headlight stalk as it is a completely separate dial on the left-hand side of the dashboard.

I had a few questions that I'd like to inquire through here. I'm a member of other car enthusiast forums so I knew to search before posting but I couldn't come up with definite answers so here they are:

1. I see that there's an engine oil dipstick but there is no transmission oil dipstick. Why? I've also read that the transmission oil is "lifetime" so there is no need to service it, is this true and is this the reason why there's no transmisison oil dipstick?

2. This is my first car with lug bolts, what is the thread pitch on the lug bolts?

3. I've read that there is no oil drain plug on the bottom of the car, is this true? I'd like to know before I tear off all those underbody guard panels just to check. Google has told me that oil changes on Mercedes-Benz are through top-evacuation through the use of a pump, is this why there's no oil drain plug? Maybe that's why I found the oil filter on the top, pretty convenient as well.

Thanks in advance, I look forward to your replies. I'll be sticking around the forums, this is a pretty neat place.
Old 02-06-2012, 12:45 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
2014 W212 E350 4M
Originally Posted by jnaval
Hello everyone! First off, this is a great forum.