navigation

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-29-2014, 12:32 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 843 Likes on 609 Posts
2010 E550, 273 Engine: 2012 S550, 278 Engine
Originally Posted by aeroconfigs
The Nav on w212 is bad, embarrassingly so. I would never try using it front of anyone I wanted to impress.
Would you shed some light to why the navigation in these cars is so very poor, please.
Old 06-29-2014, 10:58 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 678 Likes on 643 Posts
2014 E350 also restored: 1969 Camaro convertible SS 1957 Chevy Belair 2dr hardtop
I am not an expert but here is what I have learned and found out. Hopefully a MBworld fanatic will not call me stupid. FIrst of all no one hardly ever calls MB to complain about it according to MB. MB buys the navagation units from the cheapet source it can find. It does not matter that they are the most reliable only that it is the cheapest. No one checks how the units function as long as it works somewhat. MB then has the Navteq system installed in the Cheap unit but the cheap unit cannot handle all the information. I can install my information on Navteq and it works fine but I cannot install my information on the cheap unit in my car. What needs to be done is people need to complain to MB and force them into a recall. Call MB corporate Offices and complain.

Last edited by dbldpr; 06-29-2014 at 11:04 AM. Reason: spelling error
Old 06-29-2014, 12:43 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,886 Likes on 1,323 Posts
2014 E63S; AMS 100 octane ecu tune; edok tcu tune; BB intakes; dyno tuned
Originally Posted by dbldpr