E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

What's the reality of installing Mid-City remote start kit?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-16-2017, 07:16 AM

Received 60 Likes on 56 Posts
'76 Triumph TR6, '14 W212 Sport, '09 Audi S5 4.2
What's the reality of installing Mid-City remote start kit?

My wife really, really, really wants remote start in her '14 E350, to the extent that the ONLY option that was a hard go / no go when we were car shopping was Keyless-Go so we could install the Mid-City Engineering kit, which apparently is the ONLY way to install remote start in this car, and is also apparently a giant pain in the *** to install. Can someone who's done it please fill me in as to exactly how much of a pain in the *** this is going to be?

As a bit of a primer where I'm at, I am a very experienced shadetree mechanic to include having completed entire frame-off restorations of classic cars, as well as more horrible jobs on newer cars, even A/C work and such. I don't think this job is outside my realm of capabilities with the possible exception of circuitboard soldering - that's new to me. My bigger concern is minimizing downtime on the car. If I need to send out the EIS for modification, for example, I can't really have the car down for two weeks waiting to get it back. I also want to try to minimize all the little "extra" costs, like possible dealer visits, or my ham-handedness breaking delicate little plastic parts that I then need to replace at a 65% markup.

A couple of specific questions I have, just from looking through the website:

Is the EIS jumper modification really 100% necessary on my vehicle?