E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

Mercedes E250 W212 Coolant and Overheating issue

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-15-2019, 09:22 AM

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Mercedes E250 CDI Coupe W212
Mercedes E250 W212 Coolant and Overheating issue

Hi, Apologies i am new to MBWorld Forum, Hopefully i am posting in the correct area.
I have a Mercedes E250CDI W212 Coupe, however recently i have started to get a strange issue with the engine temperature gauge and coolant light.

As a example if i drive the car for a around 10 minutes and park up (Parking up for a hour for example). When i return and turn the key to start the engine the engine temperature gauge seems to be shooting up to 120 degrees, then slowly starts to drop down to around the 85 mark to where it should be. Often if im unlucky gauge displays past 120 degrees mark along with a red warning on dashboard "Coolant Warning Switch Engine Off". At this point the fans kick in and seem to be quite loud until eventually it cools down again.

The issue i am having is the car seems to go into limp mode and thinks it is over heating when it is not whilst im driving, and a few times the car has switched off on me whilst driving on a busy road. First power steering goes, and the car automatically slows down followed by the engine switching off on me.Whilst the fans are turning on high speed, I can turn the car back on again but the engine temp will show 120 degrees.

So i visited my local Mercedes dealership in the east midlands whom then hooked it up the star diagnosis machine. They found it was flagging two issues up and they advised me to replace Thermostat housing(due to there being a crack) and Coolant housing (as there was a leak). So i got these replaced and Mercedes mechanic tested it by taking it for a short drive all seemed fine.