E-Class (W213) 2016 - 2023

Is "A" Service Necessary?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-19-2022, 12:12 PM

Received 123 Likes on 99 Posts
2018 E400 Coupe
Is "A" Service Necessary?

I need some expert advice. Because of Covid, and because I can do all of my work from home, I've been driving my 2018 E400 Coupe very little since March of 2020. The car had the "B" service performed on October 12, 2020, and it's been driven only 1,630 miles since then (the odometer shows only 13,042 miles as of 9/19/22). Nonetheless the dash is displaying the "A Service in X Days" message.

Is the A service really necessary at this point, or can I skip it, and if so for how long?

My cost per mile driven is already through the roof due to insurance and so forth, and I'd kinda like to keep it under $5/mile! 😱
Old 09-19-2022, 12:35 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 198 Likes on 156 Posts
2016 GLE63s / 2016 E63s / 2002 E55
I never ask for Service A or Service B. When needed I only get an oil change at dealership and reset the warning light myself. Change oil every 10 to 12k miles or once a year. If you only doing normal driving 1 to 2k miles a year changing oil between 1 to 2 years would be fine IMO.

Last edited by E55 KEV; 09-19-2022 at 12:42 PM.
Old 09-19-2022, 01:10 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 268 Likes on 210 Posts
2019 E300
If your car is out of warranty, you should be ok with extending to 18 months. Condensation could cause water to get into your oil over time, also, the corrosion inhibitors in oil tends to break down after a while.
Old 09-20-2022, 02:50 AM

Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts
Mercedes E220d AMG Line Estate (S213) and Mercedes E220d AMG Line Cabriolet (A238)
Originally Posted by The_Judge