Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

Not covered under warranty. Call insurance?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-07-2010, 08:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
SLK 300
Not covered under warranty. Call insurance?

Hi, can anyone help with the following situation?

I have been driving leased SLK 300 for two years and have never had problems with it. Recently I brought it to the dealership for service B. A few days after I tried to open the top (first time since the service) and heard a loud noise from inside the car. It sounded like one of the moving parts hit some obstacle and was grinding against it. The roof stopped for a moment, then there was a click like something released the roof, and it opened completely.

There was nothing outside the car that hit the roof or prevented it from opening smoothly as had been the case before the service.

Later when I closed the roof I heard the same sound of a moving part struggling to get free of some obstacle. The second time the top got stuck in a half-open position. It took me several attempts moving it slightly back and forth with the roof operating knob to close the top back.

I called the dealership. The service adviser asked to bring the car in. He said the car might need a fix and assured me it was covered under the warranty.

A week passed since I had brought the car in, and the service adviser called me back. He said:

"We have an expert from Mercedes who looked at the car and determined that you have bent hinges. The cost to repair is $15,000. The warranty does not cover it because the source of the defect is external: you must have hit something with the roof when opening it. Please call your insurance".

Well, I know better than any expert: I did not hit anything with the car top. If someone did hit the roof and damaged the hinges, it could only happen when the car was taken from me for the service.