Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

Which Mercedes for a growing Family? ML, GLK, GL?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-08-2011, 05:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1998 Lexus Sedan
Which Mercedes for a growing Family? ML, GLK, GL?

Hey everyone,

I am brand new to these boards (well, I have been a lurker for a while, but now finally registered as a user), and need some serious advice.

I am a consultant with Arbonne, which is only relevant due to the fact that the company car they reward us with when we promote to the Vice President level is a White Mercedes. I am most likely going to be promoting in the next couple of months. We basically get a flat monthly bonus in our paycheck based on sales to cover the payments of our car, so we can't just splurge and get whatever model we want. We want to be smart with our money, so hoping to stay in the $40,000-ish range.

That being said, I have been researching as much as I can to figure out which vehicle would best suit us. We currently are parents to two boys, 4 and 18 months, and have a little girl on the way in October.

Style-wise, my favorite is the GLK. It is just super hot if you ask me. And of course the price point is pretty awesome too. We did test drive one before we found out we were pregnant, and loved it. Definitely doesn't "feel" as nice as the ML or GL, but that's what we expected for the price. Unfortunately, we are realizing now that we are having baby #3, the GLK may just not work. If I remember right the back seat is pretty small (husband is 6'2" and I'm 5'11"), and I think it may be totally impractical to try and squeeze three car seats back there (although I know the Sunshine Kids seats would probably make it work, but still). Totally sucks, cause I see those things driving around town and I just DROOL.