Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

Tips for maximizing resale value

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-22-2020, 09:23 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
GLC 300 Coupe 4matic
Tips for maximizing resale value

Hi folks, recently joined the M-B with a 2019 GLC 300 Coupe that I picked up used with 15k miles and I am loving this thing. This is also my first "nice" car, so I am also new to the concept of taking good care of a vehicle. However, I am not planning on keeping it forever. Knowing myself, I will want to move on to bigger and better things in a couple years' time. For that reason, I'd like to preserve as much of its value as possible.

That said, there is absolutely no way I am going to live with this car and not upgrade it! That is obviously going to put me in the danger zone for resale value. The car came pretty nicely optioned, but not quite exactly how I would've optioned it myself. Some of the main upgrades I am considering now are the following:

Cosmetic:
  • Retrofit GLC 63 front bumper
  • Replace stock Diamond grille with AMG Panamerica grille (already done, keeping original grille in storage)
  • Retrofit interior ambient lighting around cabin
  • Install aluminum running boards (already done, keeping original skirts in storage)
  • Replace multimedia display with larger touchscreen
Performance:
  • Resonator delete (not really performance, but more than cosmetic and not easily reversed)
  • Performance ECU chip (may go with tuning options from M-B dealership)
Other than keeping up with regular detailing and maintenance schedules, what are the key things I should know before performing any upgrades if I want to preserve as much value in the vehicle as possible to sell it a couple years from now? Are there any upgrades that will actually increase the value, or is pretty much anything that isn't spec going to drive it down?

Edit: