GL Class (X164) 2007-2012: GL320CDI, GL420CDI, GL450, GL550

Ready to take the plunge

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-02-2008, 09:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1999 Range Rover HSE, 1999 Porsche Boxster (hubby)
Ready to take the plunge

I'm a newbie to this forum but have learned a lot from reading all the posts the past few days. I have owned my Range Rover for 8 years that I love but it's worn out at 130,000 miles. I'm now at the point with two small daughters (18 months and 5) and two large dogs (that we take almost everywhere) that we need a larger vehicle. After test driving the X5 (fun to drive but too small), the LR3 (liked the features but seems cumbersome in its handling) and ruling out a Range Rover due to reliability and lack of 3rd row I've decided on the GL.

I'm a bit concerned about giving up a tailgate since it seems less difficult to control my dogs' exit from the car compared to the gradual opening of a tailgate. If you've ever tried to control two excited Rhodesian Ridgebacks who are ready to hit the trails, you know what I mean. For those of you who have dogs is this a non-issue?

The other thing I loved about my Range Rover is that I feel so safe driving it especially in storms. Does the GL handle puddles, etc. well? I love the off road ability though I rarely get to use it. How does the GL handle snow, etc without the off road package? My dealer says it's only needed for serious off-roaders. I rarely get to do off-road but one of the funnest experiences with my Rangie was taking it off road in one of the classes.

Is the GL550 really worth the price with the extra options. I would most likely pick the P2 package, keyless entry, leather seat option anyway on the 450.