GL Class (X164) 2007-2012: GL320CDI, GL420CDI, GL450, GL550

Avinusa 9" Android head unit

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-24-2018, 05:03 PM

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
GL550
Avinusa 9" Android head unit

So we recently purchased a 2012 GL550 to replace our aging family SUV. I decided to upgrade the stereo system given its limitations compared to today's head units. I did a lot of research and stumbled on this forum and read a bit about others installing Android head units on their GL. I also have the same type Android unit on my Nissan Titan so I have some experience on how it is with the car.

After a bit of reading up, I decided to go with Avinusa's Android unit. I purchased the head unit, the MOST fiber optic amp interface (our GL has the Harman Kardon system), the factory Bluetooth mic adapter, factory back up cam adapter, and factory gps adapter (which I discovered during the install was not needed because the factory gps plug is compatible with the Android head unit).

Install was pretty straight forward. There's a number of YoutYou videos I followed to do the install as far as removing the AC control panel. The toughest part was getting the AC panel off as I was scared to break the trims. Once everything was out, all I had to do was unplug the harnesses and fakra plugs (gps, Bluetooth mic, and back up cam) from the factory unit. The unit harness had the fiber optic plug which I had to remove and plug into the MOST fiber optic amp interface box. Most of the harness from Avinusa come prewired and all I had to wire was the MOST box into the harness (color coordinated so you pretty much just follow the colors; yellow, red, and black for ground). It also comes with two rca plugs that plug into the unit's front right/front left rca input. I ran the USB plug extensions to where the iPod adapter socket was in the glovebox, makes it a clean install and the plugs come out the hole where the iPod adapter socket used to be .