2011 GL 440 Stiff Accelerator

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-25-2023, 02:38 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2011 GL 450
Question 2011 GL 450 Stiff Accelerator

Hi,

I'm new to the Mercedes. I just purchased a 2011 GL 450 and it's a beauty with less than 27K miles on it. BUT......it's a 2011. I've had to replace parts on the suspension and now I've noticed that the accelerator feels like there is a rock underneath it when I try to accelerate. It will accelerate when I push down really hard, but it doesn't seem normal. It also has a sound coming out of the tail pipes on the right side that, the only way I can describe it, sounds like helicopter blades hitting the air. The car idles fine and "seems" to be okay in terms of the engine. But, I have no clue what the sound is and why the accelerator is so stiff.

Thanks for your help.

Last edited by KLM1957; 05-26-2023 at 11:42 AM. Reason: typo
Old 05-25-2023, 08:10 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 593 Likes on 499 Posts
2007 GL450
I only dropped into this thread to find out what a GL440 is. Saddened to find out it was just a typo. This is not as retarted as it sounds; overseas there is the 420 and 350 or 370 or something like that.

What's wrong with it being a 2011? They only go bad with age when left outdoors. For a supposed off-road vehicle, they really don't like adverse conditions.

It doesn't make sense you had to change suspension components at 27k miles, unless you live in a smog-saturated area (Mexico City?).

Regarding your puzzles: I have no idea what you're talking about with your complaints. The pedal is stiff? Is there a floor mat jammed under the pedal? There's a funny sound from the exhaust, like the lup lup lup from the beginning of Apocalypse Now? Maybe there is something funky about the exhaust, like the catalytic converter got removed while you were asleep one night. (Double shame if anyone stole my cats; they're hollowed out. All that destruction for nothing, smh.)