Dealer quoted me $571 for Service A and $2273 for Service B

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-25-2019, 11:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GLC300
Dealer quoted me $571 for Service A and $2273 for Service B

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I purchased my 2016 GLC 300 from Tysons Mercedes (I am not sure if it's against the rules to mention the dealer's name, if so, please lemme know) this February. I have driven quite a lot this year, so now it's time to do my 10,000 miles service. Due to my being a total idiot, I scratched the ceramic coat on my rear bumper. Tysons fixed the existing scratches on the car when I bought the vehicle so I asked them if they can help me out this time as well. They said yes and I was pleased. And I asked them to give me a quote so I can do the service and paint fixing in one appointment. To my dismay, they quoted me $773 for service A, which includes a spark plug change. I was a little appalled that they wanted me to change spark plug as the car is only at 46K miles. So I asked them how much it would cost if I skipped the spark plug this time. And they told me that service A is $571, which "come with oil change, fuel additive, cleaning of the water channels, checking all fluids, topping them off...". And a mere oil change is $140. And they said my next service will be $2,273 "because the transmission fluid would be due to be replaced".

I am under the impression that this is quite a steep price for service A or B. I am a noob for car maintenance. So could anyone tell me how important is the "fuel additive and cleaning of the water channels"? I have quite a lot of coolant and wiper fluids. I can certainly check and top them myself. Do you guys think I shall go to the dealer for service A or can I simply change the oil at an indie shop?

BTW, Mercedes of Alexandria quoted me $285 for service A, which I think is more reasonable.

Thanks for your time in advance.
Old 10-25-2019, 12:08 PM