GLC Class (X253) Produced 2016-2022

Brake Hold Function

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-06-2022, 02:01 PM

Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
2023 GLC300 4Matic SUV
Brake Hold Function

I’m new to MB. I have a 2022 GLC 300 4Matic SUV and I can’t seem to apply the Brake Hold consistently.

In the Subaru I traded in there was a button for this function. You pushed the button and everytine you brought it to a complete stop the Hold engaged.

In the MB there is no button. The hold is engaged by some mystical combination of pressures on the brake pedal. Are there any tips or tricks to this combination? I can’t seem to get Hold to engage on a consistent basis?

Thanks,
Kyle
Old 07-06-2022, 02:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
glc 250d
If you slow to a stop and give a quick push of brake peddle it holds, you can release for a smoother start by pressing brake again to switch auto hold off before pulling away.
Or just accelerate and it auto releases.
If you stop and dont press right away it take a hard push to put it on.
Old 07-06-2022, 03:45 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3,829 Likes on 2,558 Posts
2019 C63CS
No magic combination. You just need to come to a stop and don't stomp on the brake. Then once you have stopped for a moment just quickly push the brake pedal further and hold will engage. Don't do it too slowly and not too early. You have to be at a complete stop for a moment. It is sort of a quick stab once you are stopped. Just stay relaxed on the brake, and then stab it a bit farther. It's an elegant solution and the driver is in full control when to engage the hold and when not as opposed to the button approach where it always engages when you come to a stop. MB and Porsche do it with the brake pedal controlled by the driver. There's perhaps a bit of a learning curve. I couldn't do it consistently from the get go, but now it's second nature.