GLC43 Slides on wintery road

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-15-2018, 09:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GLC 43 (2018)
GLC43 Slides on wintery road

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time on this forum. I just recently got a GLC43! I live in Ontario and it's snowing intermittently and not all the roads are plowed.
A few questions, after driving for the past 2 days in the snowy condition, and experiencing sliding:

1. Mercedes is always rear wheel drive?
2. Is there a way to turn all wheel on (I thought 4matic meant all wheel drive)?
3. I have all season tires, would changing to winter tires help?

The reason for asking the above questions, is primarily because I noticed the snow is causing a lot more sliding with my GLC 43 than my other vehicles.
Old 01-15-2018, 12:28 PM

Received 84 Likes on 64 Posts
X3 M40i
First, do you have the 21' Run-flat continentals (Summer Performance tires) on your GLC43? If so, good luck in the Winter, you should change them out ASAP. If the answer is yes please refer to the "Crabbing/Shuddering" threads.

If you have the 19's or 20's do you have have All-Season tires, Summer performance or a winter setup?
Old 01-15-2018, 12:58 PM

GLC 43 (2018)
Originally Posted by DameMD
First, do you have the 21' Run-flat continentals (Summer Performance tires) on your GLC43? If so, good luck in the Winter, you should change them out ASAP. If the answer is yes please refer to the "Crabbing/Shuddering" threads.

If you have the 19's or 20's do you have have All-Season tires, Summer performance or a winter setup?
Thanks for the reply DameMD. I have All-Season.
Old 01-15-2018, 01:37 PM

Received 38 Likes on 33 Posts
Very very slow
Originally Posted by Thopi 5karan
Thanks for the reply DameMD. I have All-Season.
Eventhough you did not mention what size of tires you have but I am guessing you have 20 inches Goodyear all season run flat tires.
The GLC43 is an all wheel drive with rear wheel bias (69 rear/31 front).