Sponsored By:

Solutions for non lighting package GLEs

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-09-2016, 07:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gle 350
Solutions for non lighting package GLEs

Hi all, I am new to both Mercedes Benz and the forums. I have been a longtime owner of Lexus vehicles and with a second child on the way had to get ride of my 2014 is350 for an SUV. Decided on the GLE and have been very happy with the vehicle except for the headlights. I have been following the other lighting thread for a few months while trying to solve my issue. My last car had LEDs which were great. And the GLE has h7s I honestly feel blind driving with them. By the way have 20/20 vision. My issue was due to delivery delays and second baby comes Ng I could not build my GLE just took one they had on the lot. Even before getting delivery of the car expressed my concern to the dealer about the headlights and he assured me they would be ok. They suck long story short. Have have switched them out for 5000k Philips h7s to at least match the color of the led daytime lights. I have also tried installing Opt7 lead conversions but they do not fit on German cars due to the h7 clip that German cars have. My question after the long winded story is do I have any other options? Maybe an led conversion kit similar to opt7 that fits MBs? Thanks
Old 01-10-2016, 10:22 AM

GLE450 AMG Coupe
I don't know if you can do this for the new GLE, but a few years ago I had an ML with halogen lights and I had a car audio/tinting type shop convert it to HID.
Old 01-10-2016, 06:42 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1,100 Likes on 806 Posts
A gaggle of MB's
Yes - you can try a bulb change - check advise from Daniel Stern lighting.

HID "conversion" in real world is not practical - the MB electrical is quite sensitive and a effective kit hasn't shown up yet - although you get false hope every once awhile with a poster "shilling" some particular kit..
Old 01-10-2016, 07:38 PM

Gle 350