GLK-Class (X204) Produced 2008-2014

Used GLK Shopping

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-13-2017 | 04:51 PM

glk
Used GLK Shopping

I am new to MB. Looking for a reliable, affordable, nice looking vehicle. The GLK caught my eye. Are there any known issues 2012-2015 I need to be aware of? Big repair prices having to get everything at the dealer "stealer" ect.... Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks in advance!!!
Old 08-14-2017 | 06:50 PM

2012 GLK
there are plenty of things to look out for on GLKs or any MB really...

- some transmissions are known to grenade. they typically start whining before they do. test drive accordingly. transmission service is 4 years 40,000 miles you can DIY or have dealer do it ~$800. Servicing the transmission is thought to be critical regarding premature failure.

- ESL / EIS failures, typically after 6-8 years, render vehicle immobile.

- common for brakes on these trucks to squeak / squeal if not serviced properly.

- in 2013+ they went to direct injection (use your own judgment here)

- thoroughly inspect Bluetooth connectivity, you may be in for a surprise to stream music from you cell phone ect

- try to find a truck with MMP / technology package so you get rear view camera ect

- leaks from transmission are also common and very expensive to repair, typically the seal in the back of the tranny (not the pan).

- automatic steering wheel height adjustment frequently breaks / broken. PITA cheap DIY or another ~$800 trip to dealer.

- keyless go, while "cool" is super expensive to trouble shoot and repair when it breaks, also a difficult DIY.

- sunroof sync issues, or sunshade operational issues are common but usually not a big deal

do thorough test drive, due diligence, drive a lot of them to get a feel for whats wrong and whats not. dont forget to check for all the things you would normally look for on any used vehicle (oil coolant AC ect).