GLS Class (X166) Produced from 2016 to 2019

Reviews of revised air suspension look promising...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-13-2016, 12:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GL 350
Reviews of revised air suspension look promising...

I've voiced my objections to the GL suspension previously on this board. We had an X164 450 and now have a X166 450, and I have to say that while I would;t switch back to the 09' car due to advances in design, features and comfort, the 09' had a more traditionally mercedes ride quality to it IMHO. I think much of that is due to the electronic steering on the newer car, but I also suspect that certain elements of the suspension were softened on the X166 and that doesn't work for me. In fact, my wife wishes I would shut up about the ride of the car already - I talk about it that much, because it irks me that much.

So, I'm no engineer - although I am a serious car enthusiast. In my mind there is a scale of cost/benefit when it comes to suspensions and ride quality. As a very basic example - a sports car must have stiff dampening and rebound in order to control the high forces of track/high performance diving. There is a penalty to be paid in a rougher ride around town but - that results in the benefit of superior performance at the limit. Well, in my mind, the GL should score higher on this scale. It's floatiness at times is inconsistent with the overall ride quality. It 'feels' like it should be more plush. I don't want it to be as plush as it already is, so its a lose/lose for me. The initial float the air suspension exhibits over minor surface imperfections a) gives the car a ponderous feeling under certain circumstances; b) suggests a "riding on a cloud" suspension (which the GL actually doesn't have [thankfully] - think 1990 lincoln town car); and c) poses a real challenge to the shocks regarding wheel control and articulation especially given the weight of the wheels 20+ inch wheels with run flats are HEAVY! So the sensat