M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

How to/best way to offroad with an ML320?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-23-2006, 05:03 PM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to/best way to offroad with an ML320?

Hey guys im kinda new to using offroading on the ML320. The other day I drove my ML320 through a Area for 4X4 trucks on a beach, I put the car in low range and drove through it but was nervous my truck would get stuck in the sand. I drove through it pretty much but engine works alot offroad through heavy sand, is that normal? I saw a Nissan Xterra drive through it like nothing, is the ML the same way if I wasn't so cautious? Sorry if I sound silly but its my first time and I don't want to do anything stupid with my truck, but wanted to get a taste of its features. Any tips and info on a safe and proper way to offroad?

PS: When off road I hear squeeks when using force to plow through heavy sand, is that normal (on low range) and what is Low range for anyway? I never got a manual for my car when I bought it used.

----------------
2002 Mercedes ML320, with stock tires and rims.

Last edited by Benzlova; 08-23-2006 at 05:06 PM.
Old 08-23-2006, 06:04 PM

XLR
Low range is made for off-roading. So that was good you put it on. Otherwise you should never put it on if you drive on normal roads. It can over-strain/drive the engine and tranny and cause some serious problems. I'm not sure to what speed you can drive in low range but I think that max speed is 30 or 40 mph. Oh and did you turn off the ESP? That and low range or just turning off your traction control will make any off roading experience that much more fun!
Old 08-24-2006, 09:04 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

BMW FTW
Originally Posted by Benzlova