M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

Side mirrors won't light when the alarm is armed

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-24-2016, 02:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'04 ML 500
Side mirrors won't light when the alarm is armed

Hello, I recently noticed my side mirrors would not flash when I locked my 2004 ML 500 with the remote. It seems to flash once when I unlock it, though. All the doors seem to lock and unlock, but no visual confirmation only when locking. I checked with the manual and re-shut all the doors and hood. Still does not flash. I did have my car battery changed by AAA not too long ago, I'm not too sure if that is the cause. Is there a simple fix that I can do, or is this something I have to go to the dealership for? I would much prefer to do this on my own (I am a complete beginner to the car world) than go to the dreaded dealership. I appreciate any help that I receive. Thank you.
Old 05-25-2016, 02:53 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 754 Likes on 702 Posts
2002 ML 320 & 2006 ML500
There is no easy fix.

The codes stored in the AAM must must be read to narrow down the possibilities. It could be one of the door microswitches or a problem with the Trip Computer.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
AAM Codes.pdf (21.3 KB, 250 views)
The following users liked this post:
jandroid (06-10-2016)
Old 05-25-2016, 08:02 AM

'04 ML 500
Originally Posted by Maj. Dundee
There is no easy fix.

The codes stored in the AAM must must be read to narrow down the possibilities. It could be one of the door microswitches or a problem with the Trip Computer.
Thank you for that, but how do I check the codes? Is it only at the dealership?
I kind of do hear a squeaky sound when the locks engage/disengage. I also noticed my compass isn't working. So maybe, it is trip computer related? If this is not an easy fix, I'm going to assume it'll be expensive.
Old 05-27-2016, 06:57 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2002 ML 320 & 2006 ML500