M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

New to the W163 platform... Help?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-04-2020, 12:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 Mercedes-Benz ML500
New to the W163 platform... Help?

Hello, all! I recently got back into a Mercedes after a few years of questionable vehicle choices, and would love some advice!

While I am not new to the brand (my first car was a w202 c280, also had a w209 CLK350 for a while), I am new to the w163 platform. I recently picked up a 2002 ML500 as a secondary vehicle, and while I am loving it so far, there are definitely a few quirks and flat out issues.

First off, the radio. I have the dreaded "no sound from the Bose system" issue. It's a factory NAV unit. From my research, it is either the head unit or the factory amp. What would be the best way to proceed? Stock HU? Double-Din aftermarket? I have done aftermarket installs in the past but I wasn't sure if the Bose systems were fussy with this.

Also, a bit of an annoyance - when removing his plates from the vehicle, the previous owner broke the two top retainers that held on the rear license plate. Yes, both of them. It is my understanding that these are a rivnut style from the factory. Would it be better to try to install new rivnuts, or go from the back and use a normal locking nut/washer? Pros and cons to each?

I look forward to speaking with you all about these wonderful machines and appreciate any insight you may offer. Thanks!
Old 02-04-2020, 02:20 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 754 Likes on 702 Posts
2002 ML 320 & 2006 ML500
First of all, did the previous owner give you the Security Radio Code? This is needed in case the battery is disconnected.

Secondly, do not replace the Amp. The problem is an internal fault in the radio or a fiber optics problem
Old 02-04-2020, 02:12 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 139 Likes on 135 Posts
02w163ML500 / 97w210E50AMG / 99w202C230k / 95w124500e-wip