M-Class (W164) Produced 2006-2011: ML280CDI, ML320CDI, ML420CDI, ML350, ML500, ML550

First MB will be e350 or ml500-advice?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-29-2006, 08:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First MB will be e350 or ml500-advice?

I am about to buy a new car, either an E350 or an ML500, but I just can't decide between the 2.
Background: I have been driving a 1995 BMW 740iL for over 10 years now, great car, but I don't want another 7 series. The new 5 series should be great, but they're not good-looking (IMHO), have lousy cupholders (actually important to me), and the I-drive just sucks.
After lots of research and dealer visits, I like the E350 and the ML500, and this will be my first MB.
The E350 is a great drive, pretty quick, has lots of great amenities, looks good, and has seemingly good reliability.
The ML500 is also a good drive, also fairly quick, also has lots of great amenities, also looks good, and has seemingly not-so-great (???) reliability. (The ML350 seems a little slow to me, so I've ruled it out).
More background: I have always driven sedans, but my wife drives a Lexus RX330 (small SUV), and I have to admit that I really enjoy the driving experience of the little SUV, so I am tempted to go with the ML, but a little frightened that the ML's quality (rattles, etc) and reliability won't be as great as the E.
One more note: we like to take road trips every now and then, and our 6 year-old seems to get motion sickness less when he can sit in the middle (backeat) of an SUV versus having to sit in the passenger side (backseat) of a sedan. This is another factor that makes me want an ML vs. an E.
Any help on deciding between the 2? Thanks for your help, this is my first post.
Old 12-29-2006, 08:42 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2007 E63
Looking at the way you're explaining things, the ML500 should be a no brainer. Seems like reliability concerns are the only thing keeping you from an ML...?
Old 12-29-2006, 08:54 PM