M-Class (W164) Produced 2006-2011: ML280CDI, ML320CDI, ML420CDI, ML350, ML500, ML550

Aquapel or Rain X Issues?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-29-2010, 07:10 PM

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
2019 AMG GLE 63S
Aquapel or Rain X Issues?

Does anyone use Aquapel (PPG product) or Rain X on their vehicle with the rain sensor? Any issues with the wipers? Any noted benefits?

I'm thinking of putting it on, as I've had some good experiences with the product (Aquapel seems to be better to me), but I've never put it on a windshield with the rain sensor.
Old 11-29-2010, 07:12 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
ML320CDI 2008 all options inc air suspension
Originally Posted by troymir350
Does anyone use Aquapel (PPG product) or Rain X on their vehicle with the rain sensor? Any issues with the wipers? Any noted benefits?

I'm thinking of putting it on, as I've had some good experiences with the product (Aquapel seems to be better to me), but I've never put it on a windshield with the rain sensor.
Makes no difference on the rain sensor.
Old 11-29-2010, 09:06 PM

2011 GL450, '06 R500 traded, '08 ML350 sold
Originally Posted by Vernl
Makes no difference on the rain sensor.
It makes no difference on the sensor, I agree. The wipers come on same as before. It does however make them streak, and when I say streak, I mean a lot. I thought it was my blades so I replaced them on my R500 and the problem continued. Haven't used Aquapel, but used Rain-X and couldn't wait until it wore out. Once it did, the wipers worked fine again.
Old 11-30-2010, 10:53 AM

'09 ML550
Originally Posted by aggst1
It makes no difference on the sensor, I agree. The wipers come on same as before. It does however make them streak, and when I say streak, I mean a lot. I thought it was my blades so I replaced them on my R500 and the problem continued. Haven't used Aquapel, but used Rain-X and couldn't wait until it wore out. Once it did, the wipers worked fine again.