M-Class (W164) Produced 2006-2011: ML280CDI, ML320CDI, ML420CDI, ML350, ML500, ML550

Glow plug starting problem W164 ML320CDI 2007

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-03-2019 | 05:49 AM

ML320CDI W164 2007
Exclamation Glow plug starting problem W164 ML320CDI 2007

Hello all, It's good to be back, seems my old profile was gone after all these years! I've been battling with this issue for many years, and have yet to find a solution.
For those that don't remember me:
Vehicle: ML320 CDI 2007 W164

Problem: Difficult to start the car when cold especially the last 2 months.
Since I got the car (2013) the engine would spin and only start if the battery was fully charged. In the last 2 months, trying to start the car normally, the engine will spin and eventually stop without starting. Diesel smoke out the exhaust. If I connect a jump starter to the jump start points in the bonnet I get a 50% start rate. I have changed both of the batteries and tested them 100%, Checked the positive wiring from the battery to the alternator, to the glow plug controller. Checked the earth cable from the chassis to the engine, checked the earthing point for the glow plug controller on top of the engine. I have tried jumper cables directly from the battery to the jump start points. I have replaced the glow plug controller with the correct model from BERU. At one point I replaced 2 glow plugs as per Star diagnostics. I only have a simple ODB2 scanner and get no useful codes from it.

The glow plug light on the dash remains on, as it always has on this car, this was never a problem until the last 2 months. Since I got the car there seems to be an electrical power problem as I do not drive the car daily and I need to keep the car on a trickle charger otherwise the battery drains to around 60% over about a week. This may or may not be related.