M-Class (W164) Produced 2006-2011: ML280CDI, ML320CDI, ML420CDI, ML350, ML500, ML550

Leaking Crankshaft Seal (Harmonic balancer seal)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-17-2020, 02:02 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
C320, SLK230, T1N Sprinter
Leaking Crankshaft Seal (Harmonic balancer seal)

2007 ML350 186k MilesA good friend just bought a 2007 ML350 that looks showroom new with 186k on it (amazing) but it had 56 DTCs and a leaking crankshaft seal when he purchased it. The car had been sold twice by a small used car lot and returned both times, so he bought it right for less than the retail of a 1997 Honda CR-V with 200K miles sitting next to it at the lot, so he's very happy.

When he bought the vehicle to my place we went through the DTCs and most were typical BS transient ones or very old ones, so I deleted them with my scan tool (Launch X431 MiniProS), and only a SRS one returned in 200 miles of driving, so we're good there.

I am a retired tech and have an indy shop and work part-time now on most makes, but most Mercedes I work on tend to be older because clientele with newer MBs and BMWs tend to favor fancy store-front shops charging more. Because of my age (mid-70s) and my vulnerability to the Coronavirus I closed my shop for now to reduce my exposure (Here in WA State we are days away from a forced lock-down anyway, as we are in an epidemic).