Mercedes Tech Talk Discuss general technical questions and issues about your Mercedes-Benz. Moderated by a certified MB Tech.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Water Pump Replacment in 124 - 1987 300D - Newbie Needs Help!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-05-2005, 10:56 AM
A2T

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Water Pump Replacment in 124 - 1987 300D - Newbie Needs Help!!

Replacing leaking water pump on my 87 300D (124). Newbie here, please help!!

Ive printed out the manuals online, but if anyone has done this on a 124 300D Id really appreciate some input.

Got the rad out last night, now Im looking at the fan – how do I remove it? Just back off the center bolt? Its not left hand threaded or anything is it? How to hold fan while Im loosening? Also, does fan need to be separated from viscous coupling, or can it all just come out together by removing the center bolt?

How to remove poly belt? Manual says to just remove that top bolt and nut from tensioner spring, then what? It just comes off…?

I obviously do not have the “counterholder” to hold the wp pulley, but can I just put a wrench on one of the nuts holding pulley onto wp?

The manual also says to remove both halves of the wp, which means removing the alternator. Is this all necessary, or can I just remove the front half of wp?

Any and all help here is much appreciated. I know the manuals are good, but for a newbie, 1st hand experience doing the job is even more valuable! Teach me and I’ll teach others!!

Paul
www.GruvenParts.com
Old 10-13-2012, 02:08 PM

I know this is an old post, but here's some info for people searching 1987 300D / 300TD repairs:

This thread will answer many of your questions (Pulling the radiator isn't required for fan/fan clutch replacement, and I am about to attempt a water pump replacement also without removing the radiator...):

http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/...placement.html