Mercedes Tech Talk Discuss general technical questions and issues about your Mercedes-Benz. Moderated by a certified MB Tech.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"Visit Workshop" Battery Icon Fix Tutorial

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-30-2012, 05:30 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2006 CLS500 - Iridium Silver w/ AMG Sportline
Post "Visit Workshop" Battery Icon Fix Tutorial

1st, I'm not a certified mechanic. If you follow my advice and blow your car up or die, call your mother. I take no responsibility.

Got this?

It might be a few things, but let's face it, when it comes to batteries, it's not if they'll go out, just when. So, if you have a 4, 5 + year old battery and you live somewhere where it gets very hold or cold, start by checking your batteries. I checked the one on the trunk with my multi-meter and it was putting out 12.7v without the motor running and 14.1v with the motor running. Good battery, good alternator. Now let's check what I suspected: the auxiliary battery under the hood (some are under the passenger seat):

Remove the dust cover using the 3 twist fasteners. Just twist them 180:

Now take out the cabin filter airbox. Just one 10mm nut and yank er' out:

Ah, there's the little sucker!

How's the voltage (engine off)? Not good! Should be 12v ish:

How's the voltage with the engine running? Should be 14v ish:

So, the alternator is putting out good voltage, but the battery voltage is low. It's not holding a charge, so she gots to go!

The newbie:

Charged out of the box too!

Old battery had threaded terminals (easy!) New battery uses bolts with threaded square washers. You can't insert them (threaded washers) once the terminal leads are in place, so I had to shim them in place outside of the battery tray, get a bite on the bolts and pull the shims out. Not a big deal though, just a bit more time/effort.

New battery is in!