Mercedes Tech Talk Discuss general technical questions and issues about your Mercedes-Benz. Moderated by a certified MB Tech.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for an OBD2 scanner, down to these two!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-20-2022, 01:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ML350
Looking for an OBD2 scanner, down to these two!

Sup MBWorld,

I will be using these for maintenance issues, as Germans have interoperability issues. My current issue is the ESP inoperative indication comes on time to time.

I am not technically incline when it comes to these gadgets, looking for an honest answer. Couldn't find the answers on any MB forums on the web to help me choose between these two. The two in particularly are the iCarsoft MB v3.0 and the Topdon ArtiDiag 800BT. I chose these two because they came out about the same time cost/size/unlimited updates/mid-tier.

I see a lot of advertisement of the iCarsoft but not much on the TopDon, but doing some research on that company they make top notch products. It would also be nice to have a scanner that I can numerously use on different manufacturers and vehicles. However the iCarsoft seem to specialized in Europeans and Mercedes. So my question is, can the TopDon do the same functions if not more what is advertised on iCarsoft MBv3?

Additionally, I read that the MBv3 is bidirectional/actuation test? but is limited and not enough to substantiate? like if I wanted that feature might spend the $1k+ ones for full capabilities.

Anyway any info would be appreciated,

Thanks,
PM
Old 06-21-2022, 08:11 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 173 Likes on 124 Posts
2018 GLC300 4Matic; 2005 C55; 2003 360 Modena
Unless you need to diagnose non-MB makes, your best investment is with benzninja ... https://benzninja.com
Old 06-21-2022, 01:44 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 972 Likes on 747 Posts
G550