Notices
New Members Check In! If you're new to MBworld!, please take a moment to check in, introduce yourself and show us your Benz!!

E350 rag top... should I?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-21-2016, 03:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2013 250 SLK
E350 rag top... should I?

Hi all,

New to this forum and may be new to MB soon. I've been driving a BMW Z4 for a number of years and for the last 6 months have been prying myself from my beloved car. It's probably the most uncomfortable car I have ever driven. When I first drove it, it felt like a sporting wrestling match because of the trammeling (the car follows the lines in the road!). And on long rides, forget comfort. However, the sound system rocks and I have become one with the car. It is thrillingly quick and responsive... so, you may see where the "prying" comes in.I had considered just buying a newer Z4, but there's a shortage of them where I live and I'm not sure about the added weight of the hard top convertible.

I've been looking at other options, even maybe even a comfortable car. My only absolute criteria is it has to be a convertible. I drove a BMW 335i yesterday and was not impressed. It was quick enough after the lag and kick in of the turbo, but the car just felt big and clunky to me. At first I thought I was just spoiled by the feel of the Z4, but it's also an attraction thing. The Z4 is downright sexy, the 3 series convertible looks pretty good from the front, but the back looks like a shoe box (apparently made that way to accommodate the retractible roof). I honestly think it's ugly, like BMW forgot all about aesthetics and just stuck on some extra space for the roof (am I being too mean? is it just me?).