R-Class (W251) Produced 2006-2013: R320CDI, R350, R420CDI, R500

Need input from experienced DIYers...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-01-2011, 07:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need input from experienced DIYers...

I'm new to the MB world and considering a used R class. I've own dozen of european cars and always buy used, never CPO. I'm a solid DIY but prefer not to drop a transmission or crack an engine open. Most anything else mechanical, hydraulic or electric is fair game with me. Lots of experience with Vw and Saab a few Porsche (expensive Vws!) as well as a few Volvos and BMWs. Never a Mercedes, yet.

The wife and baby need a good vehicle and she doesn't like my Suburban so I'm considering a 2006 R-class since they fit my budget.

I'm curious to hear from those who know MB well, especially newer technology and the ability of a good DIYer to feel comfortable with standard things that OBD2 can handle. I'm not affraid to go to a dealer but I don't want to buy something that also costs $1000 every time I drive near a dealer...I could have experienced that with my Porsches but thank goodness they were easier to fix then most of the VW and the internet/forum support is amazing.

My experience if that most European car enthusiasts are leaps and bounds ahead of Asian and American car enthusiasts on understanding their vehicles and supporting them. It appears this forum is rock solid but I also learned that sometimes high ends car forums are full of buyers who talk about trim, carbonfiber and how to change rims...and that is all.

Is there enough support and input out there on a model that is only 5-6 years old?
How easy are these new MB to wrench on? I know the R class engine bay looks tight compared to an E class wagon.
Any other useful comments experienced people can add to my inquiry?