R-Class (W251) Produced 2006-2013: R320CDI, R350, R420CDI, R500

2008 R350 ANY MAJOR ISSUES ? INPUTS PLS

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-11-2018, 09:30 AM

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
R350 2008 4Matic Gasoline
2008 R350 ANY MAJOR ISSUES ? INPUTS PLS

Hey Guys ? just got back on another Mercedes after wrecking my E320 6 years ago...Got me a "2008" R350 ..Any imputs Guys ????? Senior members...what do you think ? Should i keep or Sell it back and get me a 2009+ Model better or above ?
Old 04-13-2018, 12:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
R350
I'm not an expert but I've read 2008 and up we're better years for this vehicle. Some complained of issues, but it wasn't (from what I've read in these forums) nothing like the previous years. I have an 2006 and I read nothing but horror stories
Old 04-13-2018, 01:49 PM

yea me too" ..2008 and below was what i heard had the most issues...but what about the Camshaft and airbag suspensions im hearing about these r350 ? does 2008 have the Clear or am i still in danger for having these issues ? any other senior members input would be appreciated...
Old 04-19-2018, 03:55 PM

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
2015 Audi S4, 1982 Fiat Spyder, 2010 R350, 2013 E550 Cabriolet
All years have the rear air shocks go around 100k miles. Replace with arnott units and they have a lifetime warranty. The balance shaft issue (not camshaft) was solved during the 2008 or 2009 year with most of those, but not all being OK. You can get the engine number and check to see if it falls in the problem range. Not all of those in the range will have the problem. Best estimate I have heard from a tech was that maybe 10% or fewer. Still, I would not buy a car in that range unless it had already been repaired. That is only for the gas engine. The diesel engine is much more troublesome and expensive to maintain.

Last edited by gforaker; 04-19-2018 at 03:59 PM.
Old 04-24-2018, 02:55 AM

Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts
06 SLK55 AMG, 12 R350