S-Class (W126) 1979-1991: 300 SE, 300 SEL, 380 SE, 380 SEL, 420 SEL, 500 SEL, 560 SEL, 360 SEC, 500 SEC, 580 SEC, 300 SD TURBODIESEL, 300 SDL TURBO, 350 SD TURBO, 350 SDL TURBO

Heater doesn't work properly at cruising speed!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-29-2010, 01:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1981 300sd
Heater doesn't work properly at cruising speed!

High guys! I'm a newbie with this being my first post. I just bought a very clean 1981 300SD, (0-60 16sec, Slight upphill 0-60 - 21.18sec). Ok, the question - What could be the problem with my heater! After it is warmed up I get in and it is hot! However, when I get up to cruising speed cold air is getting in somehow or the heat just doesn't come out. The defrost is on for sure but not Hot - just warm. I checked the anti-freeze level and it is on par (I added maybe 12oz's max). Also there is a little vent just below the arm rest that blows outside temp air while cruising and wont shut off. Can anybody help me? Oklahoma is about to get cold. jmag
Old 10-29-2010, 09:49 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
300E a couple 1994 w124wagon E320 Wagon/,1971MGB Track/Rally, MG Midget Autocross ,2000 E320 wagon.
Watch your

coolant temp if it is in the normal range at rest or slow speed and drops cooler at speed you could have a thermostat stuck in the open position.
easy to replace. Part at www.autohausaz.com cheap.
Old 10-30-2010, 12:16 PM

Originally Posted by jmag