S-Class (W126) 1979-1991: 300 SE, 300 SEL, 380 SE, 380 SEL, 420 SEL, 500 SEL, 560 SEL, 360 SEC, 500 SEC, 580 SEC, 300 SD TURBODIESEL, 300 SDL TURBO, 350 SD TURBO, 350 SDL TURBO

recommended W126 for cost effective daily?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-25-2023, 09:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
potential buyer
recommended W126 for cost effective daily?

I know these vehicles are bullet proof and still surprised the low cost of the mid 80's years but concerned about cost of potential repairs, parts availability / cost & difficulty to work. I am a hobby mechanic and looking for something efficient, economical, fun to work and cool factor or fun to drive ($7500 or less). Let me know yalls thoughts and potential years to avoid and what to look for when purchasing. I am also considering W123's, Volvo 240's, Geo's, Saturn's and other random oddball budget bangers. Added benefit is potential of mixing mineral oil into fuel (I have an endless supply of T oil). Thanks in advance!
Old 07-27-2023, 02:43 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 512 Likes on 381 Posts
222 S-65
Most cost effective daily.

Toyota Camry. New enough to not have a timing belt. Four cylinders or six. Both are great.... but not interesting.