S-Class (W140) 1991-1999: 300 SD, S 350TD, 300 SE 2.8, S280, 300 SE 3.2, 300 SEL 3.2, S320, S320L, 400 SE, S420, 400 SEL, S420L, 500 SE, S500, 500 SEL, S500L, 600 SE, S600, 600 SEL, S600L, 500 SEC, 600 SEC

surging at stop lights

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-28-2007, 11:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
surging at stop lights

please help my 1989 300se is surging when I am at stop lights. Have to hold my foot on brake and pat the gas to keep it runing, can anyone help. The car has been tune up but I am still having this problem.
Old 08-29-2007, 09:58 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2011 E350 Bluetec, 1996 S320 & 2006 E320 CDI Sold to my son & 2017 GMC 2500 Diesel Pick up
Kfulks, I'm no pro mechanic & don't know your year car but that sounds just like what my S320 did when the Fuel pressure regulator went bad. If it is it’s an easy fix and not to expensive for the Part. Mine was on the top right front of the engine. I was told to pull the vac line off the regulator and check it for gas or the smell of gas. If its wet with gas or swells like gas it is bad.
Old 09-01-2007, 12:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
s600/s420
In reality what "could" be happening is the electrical component inside the MAF sensor becomes contaminated by the impurities in the air. These containments imbed themselves to electrical component that senses the air flow causing the sensor to be slightly off. Note that the filament does heat up upon ignition to burn off any residue, however it is a place to start.

Engine surge is "primarily" caused by a engine management failure. Sensors that monitor emissions and performance are communicating with the main PCM controlling fuel mixture, timing and emissions management systems. Failure to do so can cause a surge while driving.

Example:1 If sensor value is out of range the main PCM will "hunt" for value therefore causing a surge condition.