S-Class (W140) 1991-1999: 300 SD, S 350TD, 300 SE 2.8, S280, 300 SE 3.2, 300 SEL 3.2, S320, S320L, 400 SE, S420, 400 SEL, S420L, 500 SE, S500, 500 SEL, S500L, 600 SE, S600, 600 SEL, S600L, 500 SEC, 600 SEC

Newb to Mercs need some guidance

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-28-2010, 10:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W205 C300, W211 E63 AMG
Newb to Mercs need some guidance

Hello All,

Im new to the world of Mercedes-Benz. My aunt who has always been a Mercedes driver Just pick up what she said is a 1992 W140 S320? (hard to tell because it's totally debadged, might be a 300SE or a 300SEL). Pretty much the only reason why she bought the car is because it has bullet proof windows (not that she'll ever need them). After having the car for about two weeks these are things that she is aksing me to figure out for her.

1. After driving for a while exhaust starts to back up inside the car, especially in the backseat and does not make for a pleasant ride. The guy she bought the car from tried to tell her that this was caused by the trunk latch being broken and the trunk not closing all the way, and somehow sucking in exhaust from the tail of the car. I told her this made no sense but it was fixed anyway to prove it to her.

2. The car gets very bad gas mileage. I had her take it to my local mechanic that works on my bimmers for me he said the air mass sender was disconnected for some reason. He connected it for her and said it should solve the problem. The improvement was almost unoticeable.

3. If the car has below 1/4 of a tank we've noticed that the gauge never accurately depicts how much gas is actualle left. I have yet to test the fuel sending unit and the actual gauge on the cluster, has anyone had similar problems to this?