S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

Tampa Fl mechanic Needed

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-17-2007 | 12:16 PM

S430 2003
Tampa Fl mechanic Needed

hey does any know of a good mechanic to take care of my Schedule B service . had the oil and filter changed bout 300 miles ago. but , i never had the FSS reset. im in hillsborough county.
Old 06-18-2007 | 06:58 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2005 S500 4-Matic, 1978 450SL
As to FSS reset, you may be able to do it yourself. First, check your owner's manuals - instructions for your car may be there. If not, see https://mbworld.org/forums/mercedes-tech-talk/173342-2006-r500-fss-reset-service-procedure-secret-menu-procedure.html. With any luck, you may be able simply to select the FSS readout (on the next service menu) on your instrument cluster, then push & hold the "R" button on the instrument cluster and hold it for several seconds. However, as you'll see, it can be more complicated.

I have no experience with an independent in this area, but you have three dealerships - Lokey in Clearwater, which one local forum contributor rates pretty highly; Mercedes-Benz of Tampa, north of Raymond James stadium on Dale Mabry (same contributor gave mediocre ratings to them); and Crown Eurocars in St. Petersburg (I have no experience with them).

Last edited by Skylaw; 06-18-2007 at 07:42 AM.
Old 06-19-2007 | 12:15 PM

S430 2003
Originally Posted by Skylaw
As to FSS reset, you may be able to do it yourself. First, check your owner's manuals - instructions for your car may be there. If not, see https://mbworld.org/forums/showthread.php?t=173342. With any luck, you may be able simply to select the FSS readout (on the next service menu) on your instrument cluster, then push & hold the "R" button on the instrument cluster and hold it for several seconds. However, as you'll see, it can be more complicated.