S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

Strange -Check Sidelight - Check Low Beam Error - Help!!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-07-2010, 04:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W220 S500
Thumbs down Strange -Check Sidelight - Check Low Beam Error - Help!!!

Hi, I am new to Mercedes ownership but have just taken the plunge a bought a 1999 S500 L W220.

When i collected the car last week, there was an intermittent CHECK SIDELIGHT message on the dash, but turn off the engine, restart and it went away.

I have today fitted new facelift rear lights (which work 100%) and whilst at it thought I may upgrade the front sidelights to LED's, however, I didn't get that far :

The Front Left Sidelight is now permanently not working - all i did was remove the blade bulb - try an led blade bulb (which didnt work) and then replace the original.

I have swapped the normal sidelights bulbs over from left to right to no avail so it isn't the bulbs.

Any Idea's???

I have now a CHECK SIDELIGHT L message and also a CHECK LOW BEAM L message on the dash and i have noticed that the Low Beam takes a second longer on the L than the R to come on - They are Xenon, but both still work.

The message wont go away or clear, so other functions now cant be used!!

I doubt it is connected, but also seemingly at the same time, my CD multichanger is playing up suggesting that I have only one or two discs in or no magazine, or that it's scanning the magazine etc???

I am completely at a loss - have no technical knowledge and am possibly out of my depth with an S Class.

Please can someone help a fledgling Merc owner???
Old 10-17-2010, 02:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W220 S500