S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

2006 s430 W220 Central locking and soft close problems.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-11-2022, 12:57 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
S-Class W220 S430
2006 s430 W220 Central locking and soft close problems.

Hey all, I bet you've never heard this before but I'm having issues with my central locking and soft close doors. I'm brand new to the community and I've been using this site to help me find problems with my car and fix them and it's been terrific. However I could not find anyone with the exact same problem Im having currently. I'm very new to working on the pse pump for the car and would appreciate if the responses are slightly dumbed down haha.

My problem: I've had the car for about a year and over time the central locking on ALL doors has been slowly fading away, it really seemed like a leak to me but what confuses is the fact that actuator leaks seem to be a door by door problem and doesn't stop all central locking on every door. Further more, the soft close on my front doors does not work. This leads to believe it's an actuator pump issue for the front doors. However the rear door soft close works beautifully, along with all other pse pump attachments. That is what is stumping me the most, why would all doors central locking stop when the pump to the rear doors seem to be fine?

This seems like a rare issue as I've never been able to find anyone with the exact same problems with the pse pump. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
The following users liked this post:
biker349 (03-11-2022)
Old 03-11-2022, 02:49 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 406 Likes on 350 Posts
2003 S500 2007 GL450
The most common problems with this system are failures of the individual door actuator diaphragms.

There is one central PSE (Pneumatic Service Equipment) pump, which creates both positive and negative pneumatic pressures.