S-Class (W221) 2007-2013: S 320 CDI, S 350, S 450, S 500, S 550, S 420 CDI, S 600

Want to buy STAR..Need guidance please

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-09-2016, 10:15 AM

Received 79 Likes on 57 Posts
s550
Want to buy STAR..Need guidance please

Read a few threads on here. I figured i will probably forever own at least one Benz product at any given time of my life from hereon. And being quite tech savvy, i think the STAR tool is worth getting in my opinion.

That being said, there are so many variants, clones and versions out there. Lots on eBay. From what i gather, i should expect to spend between $500-$800 for a good one.
Someone please guide me to a good source to get one. Preferably one that will work with W222 and W463 cause those a are the cars i most likely will be getting next.

Thanks
Old 08-09-2016, 12:40 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
11 S550 4MATIC
This looks good as it's on a tablet:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/MB-STAR-C4-2...oAAOSwbYZXeDZ3

I'm no expert so resident professionals will be able to help you better.
Old 08-09-2016, 01:09 PM

s550
hey

Originally Posted by fbracer
This looks good as it's on a tablet:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/MB-STAR-C4-2...oAAOSwbYZXeDZ3

I'm no expert so resident professionals will be able to help you better.
That looks nice seems the only difference between this and other variants is that this one comes with a tablet as opposed to a laptop. With that that being said, if that is the only difference then i think i prefer to spend less than half of what this is selling for and be ok with the laptop variant.

That seller in the bay link seems to sell a lot of the MB STAR in different forms. Just need one that will work for the w222 and w463 at the very least and is not going to be a bad clone or whatnot. Found this in his list of options for sale
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/MB-C3-Multipl...kAAOSwKIpV~YsP

but its a C3. i see people talk about C3 and C4. what is the difference?