S-Class (W221) 2007-2013: S 320 CDI, S 350, S 450, S 500, S 550, S 420 CDI, S 600

To Update or Not to Update, That is the Question?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-12-2021, 01:32 AM

Received 89 Likes on 53 Posts
2007 S600, 911 & XJ8
To Update or Not to Update, That is the Question?

Yes... That is the question...

DAS wants to know... "Yes" or "No"???

I started with the Telematics update; that is not only useful but necessary. See...

https://mbworld.org/forums/s-class-w...pdate-diy.html

I know I'm about 8 years late to the party, but I've noticed over the last 5 years there are more DIY threads... A good thing... And, pure dealer service seems increasingly less economically feasible. Having recently self-taught myself how to 'offline' program with DAS (see, link above, and, you can do it too, if you have Xentry/DAS...), the dilemma arises on whether all new programming is a 'good' thing.

Frequent contributor, BOTUS, doesn't like some specific SW updates, as he described in the link above. More specifically, he says to avoid most of the 221902**** updates, at least for the pre-2010 vehicles. E.g. Distronic/ABR 2219029502 and air conditioning/AAC/KLA 2219024202.

I had already done the AAC/KLA 2219024202 update and was about to do the Distronic but stopped any further updates after reading what BOTUS said about the Distronic updates and other updates. Best I can tell, my 2007 S600, USA version, has had no updates since 2008 other than Telematics 2218270665 and the AAC/KLA 2219024202, that I did. I have no complaints with either, so far...

So, at the end of post #1 in the DIY-Telematics-Update link above, I asked:

"Anyone know of any other control units that could be improved with reprogramming??? And, which ones should be left alone???"

I've only heard from BOTUS so, I have a sample size of '1' so far, and he has a Euro S500.