S-Class (W221) 2007-2013: S 320 CDI, S 350, S 450, S 500, S 550, S 420 CDI, S 600

2008 S550 Bluetooth

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-16-2022, 09:34 AM

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
clk320
2008 S550 Bluetooth

OK, first off, I am not a radio or small electronics tech. I have very little experience with all these different connectors etc... I ordered this little module from Amazon. It is the model for the MB and supposed to work, but obviously the connector under the center console is totally different. I also have ordered the one that fits the audio inputs in the glove box. Neither work. Is there anything I can order to make these factory connections work? Thanks.

No Bueno

Last edited by mcb66; 01-19-2022 at 07:07 AM.
Old 01-16-2022, 10:14 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 863 Likes on 721 Posts
S500
this equipment can not work on early w221s

the socket in the arm rest is ONLY for a telephone module in can't ever do music

either an of the era, actual clip in mobile phone via an adaptor or you can add either a Merc stupid money Bluetooth puck (there are 4 from old to current, the current version will cope with modern phones - Merc were too crooked to just firmware update from early capability)
or a viseeo MB-3 or MB-4 or MB 4+ (all viseeo models need the hidden dip switches set to NTG4.0 or it behaves very strange and mostly doesn't work - this is NOT documented for the S W221 in the user manual)

as for music in - in the glove box YOU MAY have old RCA phono sockets to plug in a non controllable music source - if the car is set to do ANY external music source in - you should find AUX under the Radio menu second one in from Nav

there are 5 conventional status's the car can be in to allow music input in

2006 model year no external music input (however there was the MP3 option that allows playback from a pcmcia adaptor with a memory card that sits under the flap below heater controls)