S-Class (W222) 2014-2020

I would like to understand why some HATE the Driver Assist (semi-autonomous) package

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-04-2018, 10:29 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 302 Likes on 209 Posts
2022 EQS580
I would like to understand why some HATE the Driver Assist (semi-autonomous) package

In reading the various posts that have to do with the Driver Assistance Package or semi-autonomous driving, I would love to get a better understanding WHY some people hate it. The common response is "I like to drive the car by myself as I have been doing for many years now. I don't need that crap. I don't trust it". I could not disagree more with this type of response. Is it age related (older folks like myself love the semi-autonomous features and young people hate it)? IMO, the semi-autonomous and all the safety features help to prevent accidents or even fatalities. In any case, I would appreciate the responses to this conundrum from all you folks on this forum. This baffles me. The awesome Driver Assistance Package and safety options on the new S Class is the major reason why I decided to sell my 2014 S550 and go for the new and greatly improved S450.
Old 04-05-2018, 12:01 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 244 Likes on 196 Posts
2014 S550 AMG, 2017 XT5
Originally Posted by BeanTrader