S55 AMG, S65 AMG , S63 AMG (W220, W221) 2001 - 2013 (Two Generations)

Coilovers

Old 09-20-2012, 11:26 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
shrimp boat
Coilovers

Hello all

I'm new to the S series. A buddy of mine has an '04 S55 and starting to have problems with the ABC system. So he wants to convert the car to coilovers to get rid of the ABC system. Just wondering if there's such a kit out there. I did search but come up with nothing. Thanks in advance.
Old 09-21-2012, 12:09 AM

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Where to start? The Italians or the Germans?
If you don't mind, I've also got a similar question. Who makes a coilover kit for a 2006 s65?

Cheers,
Ricky
Old 09-21-2012, 07:54 AM

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
2006 s65. Ford Excursion 6.0. Pontiac GTO convertible. Porsche 944 Turbo SCCA car. Wife-E550 and 968
I'm no expert, but i will add my two cents because this part of the forum is usually so dead that it may cause someone who actually knows something to chime in and correct me. I think the problem is that the power steering pump function is somehow shared with the abc pump. If this is true you would need to figure out the power steering setup. I last checked on this about a year ago, but I believe Arnott industries was working on something. If the car is an airmatic it is a different story. At the very least, Arnott industries has cheap( relative term) strut options.
Old 09-21-2012, 02:46 PM
Former Vendor of MBWorld

Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts
MERCEDES-BENZ CL-CLASS
Arnott Coil Conversion Kits

Arnott currently does not have a Coil Conversion Kit for the S65 but it is on our development list. Download an Arnott Catalog for the lastest products available by application including the Mercedes-Benz coil overs. If the catalog has a part number but the does not appear on Arnott's web store than that means it may be released soon.