SL-Class (R129) 1990-2002: SL 280, SL 300, SL 320, SL 500, SL 600, SL 60 AMG

SL/R129: Conv. top hydraulics on 2002 sl500

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-07-2011 | 05:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2011 infiniti m37x, 2000 lexus rx300
Conv. top hydraulics on 2002 sl500

I am new to the MBWORLD site and am interested in buying 2002 SL500. I have read about the hydraulic issues and wonder what % of these 2002's would be prone to having a problem.

Is this something that inevitably happens to most SL500's?

THanks, Andy Simon
Old 11-08-2011 | 05:53 AM

Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts
04 E500, 00 SL500, 99 SL500, 94 E420, 92 500E, 92 500E, 92 300CE, 06 Lexus GX470
Seals

Originally Posted by andysimon
I am new to the MBWORLD site and am interested in buying 2002 SL500. I have read about the hydraulic issues and wonder what % of these 2002's would be prone to having a problem.

THanks, Andy Simon
Not sure what info you have gotten, is it something 02 specific? I'm fairly new to 129's myself, and since nothing has broken so far on my 99, I've only read about problems and the fixs.

From what I have read, the seals in the hydralic cylinders will eventually leak. This seems to be a problem with all years, not just 2002.

Having the dealer replace the cylinders with new ones was been quoted at a few thousand dollars in several forums.

There are at least two other alternatives. from businesses that specialize in rebuilding them instead of throwing them away. The savings from rebuilding is significant, if I remember correctly, about $500 or so rebuilds them all. You just need to have them removed and reinstalled, either DIY or an indi.

Do a forum search on the SL top hydralics and read what's already there. The biggest issue is what condition they are in when you buy the car, as it should affect the purchase price.