SL/R129: 1994 600SL with stiff suspension

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-09-2012, 02:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
600SL
1994 600SL with stiff suspension

Hello there Gurus of V12.
With few interruptions (rewiring ETA and MAF), I've been enjoying my 600sl for last 4 years. A year or so ago friend helped me to replace leaking o-ring on ADS distributor(self leveling valve). Unfortunately since then the ride got stiff . No difference between regular and sport setting. Replacing nitrogen spheres and bushings on the sway bar didn't make a difference. I get no fault codes and no light comes on the dash.
Should i be looking back the the valve or is this electrical issue? Can someone help me please?
Old 09-11-2012, 12:46 PM

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
94 SL 600, 98 993, 89 XJS Conv., 85 Daimlier Princess 16 Hybrid Lincoln 16 Chevy crewcab
When my system was repaired, it was a greatly improved ride. I'm not sure what is not working for your car. Does the car body elevate when you drive over a pavement change? I noticed about a 3/4 inch change in the rear of the car when my car went over the driveway/garage floor lip. ( about an inch ) That bump set off the ride height adjustment that is part of the ride leveling system.
Klaus of Top Hydraulics is now rebuilding the ADS valve, so maybe he will jump into an answer.
When the ride is restored, it is wonderful! when it's broken...., Oh well it provides the better half another Tee off point about my hobbies and money pits! ;(
Old 09-11-2012, 01:06 PM

600SL
thanks for the feedback SRHSL600. Yes this car can deliver pleasure and pain at will.

We have a lot of speed bumps in out neighborhood and i use to glide over them with car completely leveled. Since that o-ring replacement the body raises as I go over the bumps. This is the most evident when one wheel is driving through the groove made for emergency vehicles (even with the pavement) and other wheel goes over the bump. Is this pointing to hydraulics ?