SL-Class (R129) 1990-2002: SL 280, SL 300, SL 320, SL 500, SL 600, SL 60 AMG

SL/R129: Risks buying a 15-yr old SL?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-18-2013, 10:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
500SL
Risks buying a 15-yr old SL?

I'm looking at buying a 1994-1998 SL. The few I have looked at have about 120K miles. Cosmetically, they look great, but don't have any idea about the mechanics. I'm no car expert by any stretch of the imagination. The cars are about $6K, so the risk seems small. However, am I just getting myself into a money pit here? I know I'm not sharing many details about the cars, but I don't know them yet. I'm just trying to figure out if they are worth pursuing. Thanks!
Old 08-18-2013, 11:13 PM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
'96 SL600, '05 S55 AMG, '06 C230