SL/R129: 1999 SL500 Hardtop Will Not Come Off, Roll Bar Stuck

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-06-2021, 05:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1999 SL500
Unhappy 1999 SL500 Hardtop Will Not Come Off, Roll Bar Stuck

Hello all,

I recently purchased a 1999 SL500 with ~130k miles. I have very little knowledge of its history or any previous issues, though it seems to have been taken care of, at least from a cosmetic standpoint. I have reason to believe that the battery was dead/low for a period of time, and I am aware that can cause some issues with the top operation

My hardtop currently does not open, and my roll bar is stuck up. I have re-synced the windows, and tried to reset the roll bar by pushing the button for however many seconds, both to no avail. Upon pressing the roll bar switch, I hear a slight click along with a low pitched hum, however the bar does not move in either direction. Upon pressing the top operation switch, the car makes the same noise, windows come down but nothing else. Also, upon starting and driving the car a short distance, I get a 'seatbelt' beep, despite my belts being fastened. This may be due to a bad belt pretensioner that may be the cause of an SRS light I have on the dash, but figured I would include it. I have not been able to connect the car to STAR unit as of yet.

I have not tried disconnecting and reconnecting the battery just yet, and have not had a chance to replace the trunk fuses. I will update this thread as I troubleshoot. All that said, does anyone have any idea as to what the problem may be/have any insight that may point me in the right direction? I would rather not take this car to a Benz mechanic who will likely charge me $500 just to tell me I need >$1000 in repairs.

Thanks a lot.

Last edited by cgstiefvater; 07-06-2021 at 06:02 PM.
Old 07-06-2021, 09:39 PM

Received 44 Likes on 39 Posts
1999 SL600